Jessie Vittoria Graphics

Illustrations (and other creative things) by Jessie Vittoria

Suction

Leave a comment

Midterm project.  We had to find an artist we could resonate with and paint something inspired by them.  I picked Michael Carson. I admire him for his use of minimal brush strokes and his loose style. However, my painting didn’t really turn out as influenced as I thought.  But I still like it.  It went through four phases.

First, I drew a rough idea onto a large piece of paper.

DSC06853

Second, I drew it again on smaller paint paper and painted it out to get a better idea of what it would look like and see what I needed to do with it.

Third, I drew and painted it again, but this time changing the color of the octopus to make it look like a octopus.  I really like this one.

Fourth, I painted the final draft on a 24″x30″ canvas.  Now it is in the student art exhibit at my school until April 30.

Author: Jessie Vittoria

Graphic Design student working freelance.

Leave a Reply

