Jessie Vittoria Graphics

Illustrations (and other creative things) by Jessie Vittoria

Taking a break

Leave a comment

So I can only work on one painting for so long.  I am working on my school project, which is a huge portrait, but I needed a break after working on it most of the day.  I decided to take an old painting I did in ’06 that I really had no need for anymore and paint over it.  I wanted to try doing a portrait without worrying about how perfect it looked.  I have a really hard time just painting loosely.  I have to make it look exactly like I see it.  Of course, this little exercise didn’t really help me…  I still obsessed over the details.

I didn’t want to use flesh color so I painted the Halloween portrait I made in Photoshop.  I used acrylic on canvas.  The canvas was only 8×6″ so it didn’t take me too long.  About 4 1/2 hours.

DSC06605

You can sort of see the old painting underneath.  I didn’t bother painting over it completely.

DSC06611

Kinda looks like a cross between the Joker and Michael Jackson now :p

DSC06613And here it is finished.  Not as “loose” as I wanted it, but it looks good.  It was a nice break.

DSC06629

It’s miniscule!!

So what did I learn?  I can paint anything I can make in Photoshop.  This is really good news.

Author: Jessie Vittoria

Graphic Design student working freelance.

Leave a Reply

